Site Loader
Rambazar-15 Pokhara (Near Indian Pension Camp)

The International English Language Testing System, or IELTS is an international standardized test of English language proficiency for non-native English language speakers. It is jointly managed by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge Assessment English. It is the high-stakes English test for study, migration or work.

What does IELTS does?

  • Assess English language skills at all levels
  • Face-to-face speaking for real-life context
  • Biometric security protects and ensures test integrity

Which countries accept IELTS?

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • UK
  • USA and many more

About the Test

IELTS uses a nine-band scale to clearly identify levels of proficiency, from non-user (band score 1) through to expert (band score 9). And there are two types of IELTS test: IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training.

IELTS Academic

The IELTS Academic test is for people applying for higher education or professional registration in an English speaking environment.
 It reflects some of the features of academic language and assesses whether you are ready to begin studying or training.

IELTS General Training

The IELTS General Training test is for those who are going to English speaking countries for secondary education, work experience or training programs. It is also a requirement for migration to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK.

The IELTS test assesses your abilities in listening, reading, writing and speaking – in less than three hours. Listening and Speaking are the same for both types of tests, but the subject matter of the Reading and Writing sections differs depending on which test you take.


You will listen to four recordings of native English speakers and then write your answers to a series of questions. The Listening test is marked by certificated markers, who are regularly monitored to ensure their reliability.
One mark is awarded for each correct answer in the 40-item test. A Band Score conversion table is produced for each version of the Listening test which translates scores out of 40 into the IELTS 9-band scale.

2. Reading

The Reading section consists of 40 questions, designed to test a wide range of reading skills. These include reading for gist, reading for main ideas, reading for detail, skimming, understanding logical argument and recognising writers’ opinions, attitudes and purpose. A Band Score conversion table is produced for each version of the Academic Reading test, which translates scores out of 40 into the IELTS 9-band scale.

3. Writing

Topics are of general interest to, and suitable for, test takers entering undergraduate and postgraduate studies or seeking professional registration. This assess your writing skills.

4. Speaking

The speaking section assesses your use of spoken English. Every test is recorded and consists of 3 parts. This assess range of vocabulary used and the precision with which meanings and attitudes.

For more resource:

Post Author: callme1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *